The Taylor/Swift Affair

OOC NOTE: The following piece is a work of fiction. Please, if you are a Taylor Swift fan who has stumbled upon this after doing a routine Google search for your favourite artist, know that there is no disrespect intended, and that as a work of fiction, this did not happen. Also, for roleplaying purposes (and roleplaying porpoises which sound amazing), everything below is viewable for public consumption and commentary. Dank je wel.

THE ALL-STAR SHOW
Episode 1.01
The Taylor/Swift Affair

[SETTING: A suburban home. It is sunny out the window, indicative of midday, although the exact time is inconsequential. Scene opens in the living room of said dwelling. AVA ST. CLAIRE (ASC) paces around the set whilst GAVIN TAYLOR (GT) sits casually on the sofa.]

ASC: “No.”

Ava St. Claire holds in her hands a manuscript. As she glances over the pages, her expressions range from shocked to bewildered to genuinely concerned. With her mouth agape, she shakes her head.

ASC: “So, you’re saying that you…”

Ava pauses to recollect her thoughts.

ASC: “Sorry… that you… had a thing…”

GT: “Yeah,”

Gavin’s expression is completely inauspiciously, and he nods his head. Ava attempts to finish of her point.

ASC: “With Taylor Swift?”

[CANNED LAUGHTER]

Ava hovers mere inches from Gavin’s head. Gavin nods his head without wavering.

ASC: “No, that’s not true. It just can’t be.”

Gavin shrugs his shoulder, still not concerned.

GT: “Why not?”

ASC: “Because she’s Taylor Swift!”

[CANNED LAUGHTER]

Ava blurts out her disbelief in the story that has reached it’s boiling point. She paces around to the front of the couch, falling back onto it as she covers her mouth.

ASC: “Sorry, that was rude. But come on, Gavin. Of all the people to have a fake thing with?”

GT: “Real thing.” Gavin says, correcting her.

ASC: Fake thing.”

[CANNED LAUGHTER]

ASC: “But of all the celebrities in the world, you’re choosing Taylor Swift?”

GT: “In my defense, she wasn’t this big when it happened.”

ASC: “Nothing happened!”

[CANNED LAUGHTER]

Ava again attempts to push Gavin to tell some kind of truth. Gavin, however, remains unmoved.

GT: “Sure, she had a few albums under her belt at the time, a couple big hits. But she was a far cry from becoming the world’s first ethical billionaire like she is today.”

ASC: “Okay, there’s no such thing as an “ethical billionaire”… also this didn’t happen, so…”

GT: “Agree to disagree.”

[CANNED LAUGHTER]

GT: “But see, she was used in Texas for a Lone Star Wrestling event… I was, of course, on the precipice of becoming a top star in the wrestling business. We did some side-by-side events. You know how some girls can get when they’re in the presence of The All-Star.”

Ava shakes her head.

ASC: “No, I really don’t.”

GT: “It’s otherworldly. She was ready to throw it all away… to give up on her dreams to run away with me. It’s true.”

ASC: “I doubt it.”

At this point, Ava’s remarks are under her breath, still not believing Gavin’s wild story. Gavin, however, is completely lost in his story as he reminisces or creates it out of nothing.

GT: “But, she was young. It wouldn’t have been right, you know? Taking the girl away from her dreams to follow mine. She wanted to be Taylor Taylor, but I couldn’t do that to the girl. And yeah, it probably hurt. I never had a song written about me, but I’m sure “All-Star Love” would have been another number one smash hit. Might have pushed her to billionaire status a decade ago.”

ASC: “None of this is real.”

[CANNED LAUGHTER].

GT: “And every word of it is real.”

[CANNED LAUGHTER]

GT: “It’s nice to see though, you know? How well she’s done for herself. How she was able to tune her guitar strings and put the pain and anguish of losing The All-Star into a billion-dollar empire.”

[CANNED LAUGHTER]

Ava shakes her head, tenting it in her hands as the laughter plays to applause.

[CANNED APPLAUSE]

COMING SOON TO THE KAYL MEDIA ENTERPRISE: THE ALL-STAR SHOW
STARRING GAVIN TAYLOR, AVA ST. CLAIRE, JACK BARKER, KARL BARKER, and introducing SASKIA VAUGHN-TAYLOR
(C) 2024, KME Inc.


The scene rises up inside a karaoke bar. Jay, the host of this particular karaoke, steps to the microphone.

Jay: “And next we have… uh… Gavin Taylor! Come on up here…”

The gathered crowd applauds politely, as one does with karaoke, ready to drink away the memories of the preceding attempt at Rush’s Limelight. Gavin Taylor steps up to the microphone, taking it from the host, as he steps in front of the screen. Tapping the mic a few times, he says…

GT: “This one goes out to a girl named Kelsai… a girl who’s been built up to impossible standards by a boy named Chase. Kelsai, wherever you’re watching this from, I hope the message gets through…

One, two, one, two, three, four…

The sounds of The Monkees’ hit (Not Your) Steppin’ Stone play out as Gavin gets mentally visually prepared.

GT: “I I I I I’m not your stepping stone
I I I I I’m not your stepping stone

You’re trying to make your mark in society
Using all the tricks that you used on me.
You’re reading all those high fashion magazines
The clothes you’re wearin’ girl are causing public scenes.

I said
I I I I I’m not your stepping stone
I I I I I’m not your stepping stone
Not your stepping stone,
Not your stepping stone.”

He steps back as the bridge plays out, continuing his intensity as he hopes the message gets across… and honestly not caring whether or not it does.

GT: “When I first met you girl you didn’t have no shoes
Now you’re walking ’round like you’re front page news.
You’ve been awful careful ’bout the friends you choose
But you won’t find my name in your book of Who’s Who.

I said
I I I I I’m not your stepping stone
I I I I I’m not your stepping stone
Not your stepping stone,
Not your stepping stone.”

The crowd again provides a polite applause as Gavin drops the microphone out of his hand, playing to this crowd of ne’er do-wells as though they were an arena filled with 72,265 screaming fans. He walks straight to the exit of this hole in the wall, moving to his waiting limousine out back. Jack and Karl Barker have the rear door flanked, ready to receive their boss, The All-Star, as he moves within. As Gavin settles, he dusts his hands off, looking to the stationed camera in front of his seat.

GT: “Did you get the message, Kelsai? You’re being sold a bill of goods that is… what’s the word? Inadvisable. See, I heard the words that came from Chance Owens about my fortunes since returning to SCW at Taking Hold of the Flame 2023 and yeah… he has a point. Luck, it would see, hasn’t been on my side since then. but he dropped the ball whilst talking you up and really talking you into this match by claiming that I’m coasting on my name as if my name has no value…”

Gavin laughs alone at first, then the Barkers join in the laughter… after a convincing elbowing nudge from The All-Star.

GT: “Seems to me if my name had no value, there’d be no point in you challenging me for a match at Body, Heart, and Soul. No, see, if that was the point of this match – you looking to rebound from your disappointment at the End of Year Show while I’m looking to finally right the ship – we’d have no problem. But no. Instead, your boyfriend had to go out there and talk you up while trying to run me down and drag me in the mud and frankly, I think you’re better than that, Kelsai.”

Gavin nods his head.

GT: “I really do. I think you’re better than having to have your competition dragged down to the mud. I think, honestly, that you’re good enough to rise above the competition where they stand. I think you’re good enough to get over without having to step over your peers after they’ve been dragged through the mud. Not everyone can say that, you know? There are a lot of wrestlers in this industry, maybe some in this company, who probably can’t get ahead on a one-on-one basis. Those people need to drag their contemporaries down because it’s the only chance they’ll get to actually surpass some talent. Sad, right?”

Gavin sits back in his set, tilting his head as he looks the camera.

GT: “Kelsai, I really do wish you the best. I believe you can soar in this industry, but as I sang for you back there, I’m not your stepping stone. If you want to get over me, you’re going to have to climb. Climb higher than you’ve ever thought possible. And when you’ve reached the summit of your climb, that’s where you’ll find me – why? Because I’m the fucking All-Star! I’m not letting my good name get dragged to the mud by someone who doesn’t believe you can climb to my level. You want to face me? Fine. We’ll put on a sporting contest, I’m sure. But just remember… I’m here telling you that you can while others felt it necessary to drag me down so your climb would be easier. They must not be as confident in you as I am. Pity, isn’t it? You only get one Chance at getting it right, after all…”

Gavin smirks as he raises a bottle of water, “clinking” it to the camera as the scene cuts.

Leave a comment