All-Star All the Time

Our scene opens up… Fancy music plays.  You know the type – the music that plays over shows like Masterpiece Theatre or the like. Inside, we see an ornately-decorated library, shelves filled with what one can assume are many first editions, illuminated by candlelight. We see a few bubbles rise within the room, giving us a source for the cameras to follow. The camera does exactly that, moving towards the source of the bubbles: A corn-cob pipe held in the mouth of The All-Star Gavin Taylor. He is clad in a smoker’s jacket, a look made famous by Hugh Hefner, and a scarf worn loosely around his neck. As he sits back, a grin on his face, the music fading to make Gavin’s words more audible, Gavin sets the pipe down on the desk in front of him. 

Scott Porter - Home | Facebook “Bonjour. Je m’appel Gavin Taylor, et je suis l’étoile de la lutte de championnat suprême. Hello. My name is Gavin Taylor, and I am the All-Star of Supreme Championship Wrestling.” 

With another grin, arrogance emanating through his pores, Gavin picks up the pipe and places the end in his mouth, blowing a few more bubbles. Looking to the camera, he pauses, pulling the end from his mouth.

“What? Did you expect to see smoke from this? Sorry… all for appearance, I’m afraid. You see, I’m not the type that is going to poison my body with toxic substances. My body is a temple… just not one of those temples where there are a thousand candles lit or one that stinks of incense.”

Tapping the pipe, a bit of the bubble solution drips off the end. Gavin takes a nearby paper towel and quickly wipes up the spillage before setting the pipe upon it once more. 

“Welcome to Rise to Greatness season. I know you all are very excited to see the offerings this year, and I know that I am just one of the pieces you are wanting to see, and that’s okay. I am nothing if not a humble man. I know you are going to tune in for the World Championship, David Helms taking on Bree Lancaster. I know you’re going to salivate over seeing Sienna Swann take on Jordan Majors. I am aware…”

He grins.

“…that you’re investing in Frozen Hell against Big Ass and Jackass…”

Gavin’s grin fades as he thinks about that particular match, especially considering the involvement of the United States Championship. But after dispelling the sourness from his mind, he smiles again.

“But let me tell you… when Gavin Taylor hits the ring at Rise to Greatness, my first official match on the show as a member of the full-time SCW roster, you are going to see something that is going to fundamentally change the industry for you. This isn’t going to be just another Gavin Taylor match. This is Gavin Taylor at his best… when the spotlight shines brightest. You see, I used to make a living building to these big shows and then when they come, stealing the show. BUT…”

He throws his pointer finger up in the air, indicating a caveat in his show-stealing history.

“BUT… I, Gavin Taylor, the Best Wrestler in the Universe… don’t need to steal the show to be happy. You know what I’m happy “stealing”? Dubs. Wins. Victories. That is my raison d’etre… my reason for being. And that’s what I’m going to do. Win.”

The scene shifts to static.

BLCKDGRD: Static Is an Adjective

Mark Walberg, host of the highly-profitable, highly-rated PBS program Antique’s Roadshow, comes on screen. Smiling his charming, non-threatening smile,  he nods. 

Mark L. Walberg (@marklwalberg) | Twitter Walberg: “Welcome back to Antique’s Roadshow. I don’t know where we went, or why we had to come back from commercials, but I sense there is a force greater than PBS at work here, and that force is viewers like you. That’s more than just a trademark you know.”

He laughs to himself, oblivious to the fact that his joke wasn’t really funny. 

Walberg: “Let’s get back on the floor, where I’m told we have a special guest.”

Three special guests, actually. Two of them stand looming over the third, who sits across from an appraiser. 

Anderson, Sam | The Road Theatre Company Appraiser: “Alright, what have you got for me today?”

One of the two men nudge the other, who procures a cloth bag. He passes the bag around the the person sitting in the chair, and as the Antique’s Roadshow camera pans around, we can see that it is, in fact, “All-Star” Gavin Taylor. 

Gavin: “Thanks for having me, Alex.”

Appraiser: “I’m sorry?”

Gavin: “I’d like to solve the puzzle?”

One of the men, Jack Barker, leans over to Gavin, muttering to him.

James Doakes (@SgtJamesDoakes_) | Twitter Jack: “Boss, this ain’t Wheel of Fortune.”

Gavin: “Then what the hell…?”

Jack’s brother Karl, the other half of Gavin’s A.S.S. … “All-Star Security”, for the uninitiated… also leans in. 

Terry crews in white chicks (best movie in my opinion) | White ... Karl: “Antique’s Roadshow. Man, I love this show!”

Gavin: “Are you why we’re here?”

Appraiser: “Sir? The antiques?”

Gavin: “Right…”

Gavin reaches into the cloth bag, first pulling out a Jay Gold bobblehead.

Gavin: “This is…”

Appraiser: “A first edition Jay Gold bobblehead, sold by Supreme Championship Wrestling circa 2005.”

Jack: “Damn.”

Karl: “This dude is good!”

Appraiser: “It seems to be in mint condition…”

Gavin: “Unlike the real thing!”

The Appraiser looks up as Gavin throws his hands upward, accepting high-fives from both Jack and Karl.

Appraiser: “Other than the fact that it’s in mint condition…”

Gavin: “Unlike the real thing!”

Appraiser: “Um… right. But anyway, I don’t see this particular piece being very valuable. From staunch fans, you might get a peak of fifty dollars, but otherwise…”

Gavin: “Don’t worry… I know what old “Fifty-dollar Jay” is going to say. Something about “blah blah the future”. Don’t worry… I didn’t invest in him at all.”

Appraiser: “Okay… good.”

Gavin reaches into the bag again, this time pulling out a copy of a biography written by notorious professional wrestling historian Dave Smeltzer.”

Gavin: “You’ll see that…”

Appraiser: “Signed, second printing… probably found…”

Gavin: “In a thrift store.”

Appraiser: “You kept the price tag on?”

Gavin: “I nudged at the corners a little bit, but felt the quality adhesive price tag might tear the dust jacket.”

Appraiser: “Well, the $10 you spent on it might be worth it if Jake Starr had written the book himself…”

Gavin immediately waves his hands out.

Gavin: “Impossible. Jake doesn’t write things. And when he does, it’s cheques his ass can’t cash!”

Again, his hands go up. Again, they are met by his A.S.S.’s hands in an elevated hand slap, better known as the high five. 

Appraiser: “I’m sorry… do these two men need to be here?”

Gavin: “They’re my…”

Gavin: “Security.”
Jack: “Friends.”
Karl: “Posse.”

The three men look at each other, realizing they all said different words. The Appraiser itches his brow a bit.

Appraiser: “Whatever. I don’t get paid enough for this. What’s the last thing?”

Gavin grins, reaching into his bag and pulling out the original SCW Mayhem Championship, a relic of the original brand split, once held by the Canadian Heart Break Kid prior to the unification match with Dean Black. Carefully, he sets the bag down on the table between he and the Appraiser first, before resting the belt upon it.

Appraiser: “Oh my Lord…”

Gavin: “Beautiful, ain’t she?”

Appraiser: “Is this the original?”

Gavin: “One of a kind. No belt manufacturer has been able to duplicate it. I haven’t even been able to figure out how to get the “CHBK” engraving off of it, which seems like it should be a pretty severe design flaw. Probably why they merged shows and did away with it.”

Appraiser: “This is a priceless relic, assuming it’s legitimate.”

Gavin: “Would I lie to you about something like this?”

He would.

Appraiser; “This might be worth between five and ten-thousand dollars. Are you selling?”

Gavin: “What? No. I was wondering if you knew anyone who did restorative work on these belts.”

Appraiser: “It looks to be in pristine condition.”

Gavin: “Well yeah… I take care of my big ticket purchases. But really, we need to find someone who can get this name plate off of it. I don’t want people thinking I’m CHBK… first of all, I’m much better looking.”

Jack: “It’s true.”

Gavin: “And more talented, too.”

Karl: “By a county mile.”

Appraiser: “Don’t you mean country mile?”

Karl: “I know what I said!”

Gavin: “But in the end, what I really need is some acknowledgement… a pat on the back. You have these goobers running around trying to cut my name down because they don’t like my attitude. I rub them the wrong way. Isn’t it sad that this all comes down to how we rub each other?”

Appraiser: “Sir, this is PBS.”

Gavin: “Sure, and I’m Mr. Gorply.”

He laughs to himself. Jack and Karl join in. The Appraiser, who doesn’t get the reference, doesn’t. 

Gavin: “Some people are annoyed that I own a collection of Championships. Most of them I won in the ring. Some I bought at auction. But overall, I’m a collector if nothing else. An accolade collector. A praise collector.”

Appraiser: “What does any of that have to do with me?”

Gavin: “Oh, nothing. I just figured I’d hit the vaunted demo. I heard a rumor that 50+ is a goldmine.”

Appraiser: “For someone like me? Yeah. For someone like you? Well…”

Gavin: “Whoa… racist much?”

Appraiser: “What are you…”

Gavin: “For someone like me… what is that supposed to mean? You know if I run onto Twitter right now, I can get you cancelled in an instant!”

Appraiser: “Antique’s Roadshow will never be canc…”

Gavin: “Let’s get out of here, boys! Waste of time.”

Gavin reaches down, snatching the Mayhem Championship in his hands. He grabs the soft bag and slides the belt inside, but abandons the Jay Gold bobblehead and the Jake Starr book. 

Appraiser: “Sir, you forgot…”

The Appraiser tries at first to get Gavin’s attention, but realizes it’s a fruitless endeavor, so he simply slides the merchandise out of sight… the channel changes. 

BLCKDGRD: Static Is an Adjective

Alex Trebek's memoir is that of a TV icon who "works way too hard ... Alex Trebek: “And welcome back…”

The scene opens up on the familiar set of the TV game show, Jeopardy. Alex Trebek, the legendary host, stands in his usual position dressed with all the poise and dignity of… well… Alex Trebek. Standing in the three positions are three individuals.

Alex: “Let’s welcome back our returning Champion, a homemaker from St. Louis, Missouri, Abigail Grayson. Welcome back, Abby.

Jane Leeves | Phineas and Ferb Wiki | Fandom Abby: “Thank you, Alex!”

Alex: “Joining us is a Harvard Professor of Applied Theology… didn’t think they had that at Harvard… Bartholomew McIvory. Professor…”

Colm Wilkinson: 'There's another two hours of Les Mis footage ... Bartholomew: “Alex.”

Alex: “And our third contestant… this ought to be good… brought to us through I’m told a publicity stunt, a professional wrestler based out of Los Angeles, Gavin Taylor.”

Gavin: “That’s “All-Star” Gavin Taylor, Bob.”

Alex: “And that’s Alex, Gavin.”

Gavin rolls his eyes, and the audience laughs. Spotting this, Gavin also laughs as though he was a part of the moment, rather than the victim of the derision.

Alex: “Alright, you know the rules, and our categories are…

Google's Top Searches was a category on tonight's Jeopardy ...

Steph Curry was a category on Jeopardy! Can you guess all the ...

Jeopardy! | MUSIC Category - YouTube

Watch Jeopardy! Devote A Category To Springsteen - Stereogum

Game of Thrones in Jeopardy! | Watchers on the Wall | A Game of ...

and

Jeopardy!' had a New England Patriots category last night | Boston.com

Alex: “Abby, as our returning Champion, you have the board.”

Abby: “Thank you, Alex. Let’s go with…”

Gavin whispers to her from his spot.

Gavin: “Hey… go with that last one.”

Abby: “What?”

Gavin: “Patriot Games. I could really clean up in that, being the biggest patriot ever.”

Abby: “Game of Thrones for $200, Alex.”

Gavin: “Ahhhh… you suck.”

Alex: “Answer… George R.R. Martin said the Wars of the Roses inspired Game of Thrones–the Lannisters & Starks fit these 2 families.”

Gavin tries to buzz in, but his buzzer isn’t registered before Bartholomew’s.

Alex: “Bartholomew?”

Bartholomew: “Who are the Yorks and Lancasters?”

Alex: Correct. The board is yours.”

Gavin: “Go with Patriot Games.”

Bartholomew: “We’ll go with Music for $600.”

Gavin: “F*** you too, buddy.”

Alex: “Answer… It’s the word & the musical set at Rydell High in the 1950s.”

Gavin again tries to buzz in, but is beat out by Abby.

Abby: “What is Grease?”

Alex: “Board is yours.”

Abby: “Let’s do…”

Gavin attempts to imitate Abby’s voice.

Gavin: “Patriot Games for $200.”

Abby looks over at Gavin, shooting him a dirty look. After a brief lull, she shakes her head.

Abby: “Fine, whatever.”

Gavin: “Yes!”

Alex: “Here is…”

Gavin immediately buzzes in. 

Gavin: “Tom Clancy.”

Alex: “Gavin, that’s not…”

Gavin: “Sorry… Who is Tom Clancy?”

Alex: “That wasn’t the clue.”

Gavin: “What? Well it should be. I love that movie. “Get off my plane”.”

Gavin laughs. There is a bit of an uncomfortable chortle coming from the audience, but it’s clear that Gavin is enjoying Gavin’s antics a lot more than anyone else is… kind of symbolic in a way, really. 

Alex: “That was Air Force One.”

The audience laughs, this time as the last at Gavin’s expense.

Alex: “We’re… can we take a commercial break? We got to fix something.”

Gavin: “I’ll say… Patriot Games has nothing to do with Tom Clancy? Come on, Bob… get with the program.”

Alex: “For the last time, this is Jeopardy, not the Price is Right… and even if this were the Price is Right, Bob Barker was replaced with Drew Carey years ago!”

Gavin: “Not in this heart.”

Alex: “Just… save me?”

The scene goes to a commercial, and you, dear viewer, change the channel. 

BLCKDGRD: Static Is an Adjective

Voice: “Theorizing that one could time travel within his own lifetime, Dr. Sam Beckett stepped into the Quantum Leap accelerator and vanished… He woke to find himself trapped in the past, facing mirror images that were not his own and driven by an unknown force to change history for the better. His only guide on this journey is Al, an observer from his own time, who appears in the form of a hologram that only Sam can see and hear. And so Dr. Beckett finds himself leaping from life to life, striving to put right what once went wrong and hoping each time that his next leap will be the leap home.”

Quantum Leap Theme / Intro / Opening - JUST THE INTRO (episode ...

The year is 2020. Dr. Beckett emerges from his latest leap inside the middle of a wrestling ring for some reason. That reason, he would soon learn, was the height of triviality.

Dr. Sam Beckett - Quantum Leap Characters - ShareTV Beckett: “What now?”

Beckett looks around in a state of disorientation. Trying his best to make sense of his surroundings, he sees only his trusty holographic guide, Al, standing in the corner, unbothered by the latest leap.

Quantum Leap - Season 1 Episode 8 - Rotten Tomatoes Al: “It’s the year 2020, Dr. Beckett.”

Beckett: “2020? You mean there are flying cars? Meals eaten in pill form? Artificial intelligence that surpasses your own?”

Al uncharacteristically laughs, though the laugh is horrifyingly robotic.

Al: “In the year 2020, people are still attempting to ascertain whether or not the Earth is flat. Others believe that there is a concerted effort by a hidden force called the Illuminati to impose one world government, limiting the freedoms of the populace at large.”

Beckett: “Humanity regressed?”

Al: “It would appear so.”

Beckett: “So what are we doing here?

Al: “Uncertain. It appears to be a…”

Beckett: “Boxing ring.”

Al: “While the metrics are similar, there is less resistance in the ropes which lends credence to the theory that we are, in fact, in a professional wrestling ring.”

Beckett looks out over the crowd, seeing a glut of people as he circles.

Beckett: “Oh boy…”

There is but one individual that comes to the forefront, however – and wouldn’t you know it? It just so happens to be The All-Star Gavin Taylor! He storms the ring, completely at home in this 80’s science fiction scenario, followed by his agent, Ava St. Claire, dressed to 80’s perfection. Gavin slides under the bottom rope and into the ring, approaching Dr. Beckett where he stands. 

Beckett: “Can… can I help you?”

Gavin: “I don’t know, Poindexter… can you?”

Beckett: “I… I don’t want any trouble here?”

Gavin: “Oh-ho-ho!”

He laughs an utterly obnoxious laugh, turning back to Ava. 

Gavin: “Here that, Ava? He doesn’t want any trouble.”

Christina Hendricks HD Wall | FREE Android app market Ava: “Yeah, I heard him, Gavin.”

Gavin: “Sounds like someone thinks he can just materialize out of thin air in Gavin Taylor’s ring without adhering to the age-old tradition of having the decency to turn the lights off first! For shame.”

Ava: “Shame!”

Beckett: “Look, I’m sorry… I can explain…”

Gavin: “Save it for the narrator, pal!

Beckett: “If you would just let me explain, I could… wait. What?”

Gavin: “Oh, come on. You and I both know you went through this drawn out introductory narration because somehow, someone who tunes in every week doesn’t know what the hell is going on. Come on, Scott. You’re not gaining viewers, and everyone knows the score already.”

Beckett: “Did you just call me “Scott”?”

Gavin: “Um, yeah. That’s your name, isn’t it?”

Beckett: “Uhhhh, no. I’m Sam. Dr. Sam Beckett.”

Gavin: “Played by Scott Bakula. Yes, I read your Wikipedia page.”

Ava: “Um, Gavin?”

Gavin: “Sorry… she read your Wikipedia page and relayed the information to me. I’m a very busy man. I don’t have time to get caught up in these sci-fi theatrics.”

Beckett: “How are you even calling me by my… I mean… that name?”

Gavin: “Come on… it’s 2020. Ever heard of Deadpool? If he can break the fourth wall, so can I!”

Beckett: “I assure you, this is all one big misunderstanding, and if I could just leave here now…”

Al: “This is a most disturbing timeline.”

Beckett: “Not now, Al.”

Gavin: “Yeah, cram it Al!”

Beckett: “Wait, you can see Al?”

Gavin: “Duh… of course I can see Al. Fourth wall, remember?”

Beckett: “What are you even on about?”

Gavin: “What am I on about? You see, this is all part of what we in the business call a “promotional video”.”

Beckett: “What business?”

Gavin: “Wrestling… you know what? Just pay attention and let the Champ do the talking.”

Al: “This man is not a Champion.”

Gavin: “Hey! This man has defeated some of the top stars in the world… saying I’m not a Champion in MY promotional video is just rude, okay?”

Ava: “Please don’t be rude.”

Gavin: “I hate rudeness.”

Ava rolls her eyes at Gavin’s lack of self-awareness.

Ava: “I know Gavin…”

Beckett: “You were explaining something about a “promotional video”?”

Gavin: “Right… You see, we record these things for big matches, and I happen to have a big match coming up, so I thought it might be fun to do an 80’s callback…”

Beckett: “And…”

Gavin:AAAAAAND… Balki and Larry from Perfect Strangers weren’t available, so I had to settle.”

Al: “Ouch.”

Beckett: “So wait… you mean to tell me that we are actually here as a part of your narrative?”

Gavin and Ava nod their heads. 

Beckett: “That is… such a relief!”

Gavin: “What are you talking about?”

Beckett: “I’m used to be parachuted into someone else’s story and having to help them come up with a solution, but you… you seem to have it all put together.”

Al: “He doesn’t.”

Gavin: “Oh my God, shut up Al!”

Beckett: “I guess if you don’t need anything, we’re free to explore 2020… get a sense of the land. Let’s go Al.”

Gavin: “Yeah, get out of here, Al.”

Al confers with Sam directly. 

Al: “Sir, I really don’t like him.”

Beckett: “Who cares? Not our problem.”

The two Quantum Leapers head out of the ring, moving up the ramp as Gavin watches them go. He leans to Ava.

Gavin: “What was the point of this again?”

Ava: “Fuck if I know…”

The scene shifts – again, because you change the channel. 

BLCKDGRD: Static Is an Adjective

Gavin: “That’s right, folks. We’re going to get back to our Dependables marathon and the classic, the Running Men and the Specter of THEM, in a few moments, but right now I, as your illustrious host, get the chance to sit down with the stars, and today we have my personal favorite Dependable, the always-lovely, stunning, charismatic, and perfect Madison Chase-Taylor!”

The camera pans to the side, to where Maddie Chase-Taylor can be seen sitting across from her husband.

Ariana Grande x Mac Cosmetics Viva Glam – Pink&Sparkles Maddie: “OhmyGod, THANK you, Gavi!”

She leans over, planting a kiss on her husband’s lips. Despite the desire to up the rating on this piece, broadcast network standards edit the kiss down to a conservative five seconds. Still, as the kiss is broken, the cut in editing makes it all too obvious that it lasted far, far longer than that. 

Gavin: “Wow.”

After regaining his bearings, Gavin looks to his wife, who is wiping the corner of her mouth with her thumb.

Gavin: “So, babe… tell our viewers what filming with The Dependables is like.”

Maddie: “It’s like totally the best! They know their lines, and I obviously steal the show!”

Gavin: “As you always have.”

Gavin winks. Maddie winks back. 

Maddie: “Why are we winking, Gavi?”

Gavin: “I’m being moderately suggestive.”

Maddie: “OH!”

Maddie winks even bigger. 

Gavin: “But you’re more than a brilliant, lauded, charismatic, sexy actress. You’re also a lawyer…”

Maddie: “Yep!”

Gavin: “A former Championship wrestler.”

Maddie: “Totally!”

Gavin: “The first person in history to score a perfect 100 rating on science’s Charisma scale.”

Maddie: “As if! That’s a thing?”

Gavin: “Just go with it.”

Maddie: “Right! Sorry.”

Gavin: “But not only are you doing all of that, but you were recently hired by St. Claire Management to employ your brilliant, untapped mind for the betterment of the agency’s number one client, me. How does it feel knowing you’re going to be able to take a more hands on approach to the career of your favorite wrestler?”

Maddie blushes, biting her bottom lip. 

Gavin: “You heard it here first, folks! Now stay tuned for the rest of the Running Men and the Specter of THEM, followed up immediately by the Chuck Taurus vehicle, Roundhouse Handlebars! Coming up only on this network.”

Maddie: “What network is this, Gavi?”

Gavin: “Fuck if I know…”

But you don’t want to watch the rest of the Dependables movie, you soulless person. So you change the channel. 

BLCKDGRD: Static Is an Adjective

“Ladies and gentlemen, welcome to Rise to Greatness weekend. This is the one time of the year when the stars come out of hiding, longing for that one great payday. All of the greatest stars of yesterday converging on one location for some great big circle-jerk where they reminisce about the good old days and wonder why things aren’t like they used to be. And if we’re honest, it’s a time of year where people like yours truly, the All-Star Gavin Taylor, really get shown how little we’re actually valued.

Don’t get me wrong. I know my worth. I may be the only person on SCW’s active roster that does know my worth. Certainly the majority of you seem to think of Gavin Taylor as this undercarder… this blowhard who doesn’t perform when it counts. Well, I perform every time it counts. Just ask my wife.”

Gavin winks.

“I didn’t toil through other companies from the SWA all the way to SCW today to be looked at as an underling. Quite frankly, I know my worth: I am the single best wrestler to have never been World Champion. I was a Universal Champion once. I was even a World Champion in Australia. But those are things that you monkeys don’t seem to recognize. You’ll call them “fake titles” because you don’t want to admit that Gavin Taylor is an image of excellence.

Well, whether you like it or not, whether you like me or you don’t, Rise to Greatness weekend is here and I plan on demonstrating just how great the All-Star is!”

Gavin sits back, a smile on his face. 

“You see, there have been visions in my head of this weekend since I joined the company on the first Breakdown after 2019’s edition. For all the slander I have been hit with,.. for the amount my good name has been dragged through the mud by the likes of Jay Gold, who is just jealous that he’ll never be as good again as Gavin Taylor is right now… this weekend was always going to be destined to be a sort of coming out party. This was going to be a chance for me to really show the world what I was capable of. And had Jake Starr not thrown his petty self at me in Taking Hold of the Flame, causing me to get hoisted over the ropes by Chris Cannon who I could have escaped had he not been holding onto me, I would have done exactly that in the main event… my future home.”

A million-dollar smile emanates from Gavin’s mouth.

“Gavin Taylor: Main Event… has a good ring to it, doesn’t it? But because of Jake Starr, not only was I robbed of that eventuality coming to pass this weekend, but you were robbed of it. I mean shit… I don’t only crave the main event for my own benefit. Sure, the main event is where the money is made. It’s where the fame is generated. It’s where people with the potential to truly crossover out of wrestling… people like me… get the chance to build enough stock behind their name to make that jump. Otherwise, you end up in the third movie of a trilogy, the one that should never have been made in light of Wesley Snipes’ tax evasion.”

Wink,

“My not main eventing Rise to Greatness doesn’t only adversely affect me… it adversely affects you, too. You may not realize it right now, but SCW needs me on top. It does. After all, who is more legitimate of an athlete than I am? Who could quarterback the New England Patriots better than me? Who could pitch for the New York Yankees better than me? Who could carry an Olympics team farther than me? What I offer more than anyone else in SCW is legitimacy. I am exactly as good as I tell you I am… maybe even better. Scary thought, no? Because at the end of the day, I am better than that… and if that’s true, then no one on the roster can stand up to me. 

Which makes Gavin Taylor at Rise to Greatness… must see.”

After a brief pause, he straightens his back, bettering his posture because good posture is definitely important.

“But that isn’t all Rise to Greatness is about for me. Seven months ago, I… lost… the SCW Adrenaline Championship. I’d rather not get into the details as to why that happened, but the fact that I have yet to even receive my rematch should be a big ol’ red flag on the play right now. Look at what happened since the Championship was taken from me: It’s gone to Asher Hayes, to Jordan Majors, to Peyton Rice. It’s… there. Sure. Great. Wow. I haven’t even been considered for a rematch because I was stuck dealing with the SCW Senior’s Tour… Jay Gold and Jake Starr.

Gavin spits as though he were a small town person who just uttered the name of that particular town’s rival.

“They’ve been trying to rebuild their legitimacy at my expense, and while I’ve proven myself better than Jay Gold… I’ve shown that I can beat him in the ring… Jake Starr has been… elusive, at best. This is a man who, like Jay Gold before him, has gone out of his way to stand in the way of progress. Gavin Taylor is progress. I make SCW better. I make those I face better. The fact that Jay Gold wasn’t “made better” to beat me is simply because Jay Gold is not better than me. The fact that Jake Starr won’t be able to rise to the occasion to beat me at Rise to Greatness will show that Jake Starr is not better than me.”

Gavin pauses…

“Look, I know that Aubrianna Powers is in this main event-caliber match as well, but if we’re honest there, this issue is more between Jake and I. I think it’s awfully kind of Aubrianna to free up her weekend from the other two companies she works for, but is that really who should be number one contender for the Adrenaline Championship… a belt I never received a rematch for? Sorry, Aubrey… it’s just business.”

After that brief aside, Gavin returns to his main point…

“This is about the betterment of SCW and, whether you want to believe me or not, that is something I care about deeply because I know that what’s best for SCW is me! So you’re going to have Jake Starr try to run me down as an arrogant braggart. Let him run… I am a big man. I can take the slings and arrows. Aubrianna is going to give her all as well, as she does in GCW and the Underground… but is someone who’s loyalty is divided between three companies the best choice here? No. You want to step to the future, there’s only one person competing for that title shot that matters…

Me.

I have done everything that has been asked of me. Sasha D will never acknowledge my contributions, but I have contributed greatly. You may laugh when the SCW Merch account runs me down saying I don’t sell, but we know the truth… the people want… nay… demand Gavin Taylor. And Rise to Greatness… is there a more fitting arena for The All-Star to take his place, ascend the mountain higher, and move towards becoming the face of a generation? No way… 

July 26, 2020 is going to be a night that goes down in history. July 26, 2020 is going to be the night the wrestling world is left with no fucking choice but to acknowledge, admit, and accept that Gavin Taylor is the future of SCW. You’ll see that my road to the main event is well underway, and no roadblocks be they foe like Jake Starr, friend like Aubrianna Powers, or anyone else in between is going to be enough to stop that road from being travelled. After RTG is all said and done, you’ll be able to add one more nickname to my repertoire.”

Gavin flashes his cheesy, million-dollar shit-eating grin to the camera.

“You’ll be able to call the All-Star… “The Greatest of Rise To Greatness”!”

As Gavin sits back, basking in his imagined glow, the scene slowly fades out to black. 

Leave a comment