The Gavin Taylor Comeback Special

“Ladies and gentlemen, boys and girls, children of all ages. St. Claire Management Associates Incorporated, in conjunction with the Australian Broadcasting Corporation, proudly present to you an event that is years in the making. Since departing Australia in the winter of 2008, “The All Star” Gavin Taylor has seen his star grow in the world over. He has competed in Texas, Canada, Tennessee, Florida, and globally as a member of the Independent Wrestling Cartel, Uprising Wrestling Alliance, and finally in Supreme Championship Wrestling by way of EMERGE. Now, as a member of SCW, he returns home – a decorated athlete, a national hero who lifted an industry out of the doldrums and revitalized it, an undeniable legend. This is…

THE GAVIN TAYLOR COMEBACK SPECIAL!

Featuring:
– “The All Star” Gavin Taylor
– Madison Chase-Taylor
– Broderick Chase
– The Australian Koala Corps
– Recording Artist Shonda Von Starland

And now, please welcome our host, Australia’s own Del McManus!

*Insert Canned Applause here*

McManus: “That’s right, mates! We are here tonight to celebrate the return of a National Hero! Way back in the 20-aughts, professional wrasslin’ in the outback was on it’s last legs. The Outback Wrasslin’ League was pegged by the old Shootclub Wrasslin’ Alliance to be closed down until a political situation between them and the promoters of the California-based Golden State Wrasslin’ prompted a lifeline for the OWL. And with that lifeline was the contract of one man who was initially bound to go to GSW. Little did we know that Gavin Taylor would be so much more than an able body, but the most popular wrestler in OWL history!”

FLASHBACK: 2008

The scene rises up inside Sydney International Airport. After a long flight, “All-Star” Gavin Taylor had finally arrived in the Outback. This Gavin looks decidedly different than the All-Star of 2020. His face is rounder, his hair a little more aloof, and his stature a little more humble. With his carry-on bag held over his shoulder, Gavin looks around, spotting someone in line with his name on a placard.

Gavin: “Um… hi?”

Man: “You the new talent?”

Gavin: “Yeah, I guess I am.”

Gavin follows the man towards an inauspicious taxi cab, where he slides his bag into the back seat before following it in. As the door closes behind them, Gavin reaches behind his shoulder, pulling down the seatbelt and snapping it in – safety first, kids.

Gavin: “You know, it’s kind of funny. I was supposed to be joining a wrestling league in California this month, and here I am across the ocean instead.”

Man: “Hmm.”

It’s clear that the man driving the cab doesn’t care about Gavin’s life story. Still, for his first time in a foreign land, Gavin isn’t shy about sharing it. Reaching down into his bag, he pulls out a bottle of water, opening it up and taking a swallow.

Gavin: “Yep… don’t even know what happened, really. All I was told was my contract was transferred from GSW to OWL here, and I was given a plane ticket to cross the ocean. Nothing about this seems very typical, if I’m honest. I mean, I didn’t even have time to look for an apartment or anything, so I hope this OWL has some temporary lodging, because really… the turnaround between “Hey, you’re wrestling in California” to “Oops… you’re going to Australia now” was pretty dizzying. But I’ve never been one to shy away from an opportunity, you know? After putting in my time in Mexico, I figure this is going to be entirely different. You know, in Mexico, wrestling’s considered a real sport.”

Man: “Is that so?”

The driver’s amount of caring about anything Gavin has to say is staggeringly low. But Gavin doesn’t register this… or if he does, he certainly doesn’t care.

Gavin: “And I made it out there as Champion several times over. The people loved me out there… you know? I think that may be why the SWA was so insistent on sending me here instead of one of the other regional promotions. I get that OWL may be on it’s last legs, and probably could use someone like me to help out.”

Man: “Hey, that’s great.”

Gavin: “And Gavin Taylor is nothing if not charitable. You know, everything about this job… I just love it so much. The adrenaline rush when my music hits, hearing the stadiums of fans stomping and clapping along*…”

*GAVIN TAYLOR TRIVIA: During this point in his career, Gavin Taylor entered to Queen’s stadium anthem, “We Will Rock You.*

Gavin: “The roar of the crowds… the highs and lows of competing in the ring. What’s not to sink your teeth into about it? I loved my time in Mexico… the fans there were outstanding, but I’m looking forward to doing what I can to help revitalize OWL. I’m sure there’s some great talent coming in and I look forward to helping out in any way I can.”

Man: “We’re here?”

Gavin: “What? Already? Feels like we just left the airport? How long was I talking there?”

Man; “Forty-five minutes.”

Gavin nods his head understanding… he had a tendency to get caught up in conversation. Still, he was there at the OWL Headquarters, the head offices of the promotion he would spend the next months of his career. As Gavin stepped out of the taxi, he turned back to the driver.

Gavin: “So, uh, what do I owe you?”

Man: “You’re new here, aren’t you?”

Gavin chuckles.

Gavin: “I mean, yeah. That’s what my whole talk there was about.”

Man; “Talent doesn’t foot the airport-to-office bills. They’re done through the company itself.”

Gavin: “Oh… well, it wouldn’t feel right to just leave you with nothing. What if…”

Gavin reached into his bag, pulling out a wrestling program from the Wrestling Association of Mexico, featuring Gavin on the front and emblazoned with the words “Most Popular Wrestler in Mexico”. He reaches into his pocket and pulls out a Sharpie, signing it before he passes it over to the driver.

Gavin: “You never know… that might be worth something someday.”

Man: “And if it’s not?”

Gavin smiles, patting the roof of the car.

Gavin: “In this business, my friend, we can’t afford to think about that. Have a good one, man.”

Gavin turns away from the cab as it pulls away, looking to the headquarters of his new company. The scene shifts back to the stage, where Del McManus stands surrounded by canned applause again.

McManus: “Gavin Taylor’s arrival here in the Outback Wrasslin’ League was looked at to be something of a boost, but no one could possibly tell just how big that boost would be. In a league that had dwindled it’s fan favourites, Gavin stepped in and filled a void that was desperate for a star. In his first month with the company, as he did in WAM before, Gavin won the promotion’s “Most Popular Wrassler of the Month” award, an award that would be Gavin’s throughout his career in the outback. The next time another wrassler would be named Most Popular? Wouldn’t happen until AFTER he left the outback. But I know ya don’t want to listen to me prattling on for two hours about Gavin Taylor… that would be too much of a tease. Well, we reached out and found some other people who wanted to speak about Gavin at this momentous occasion. The first actually happens to be Gavin Taylor’s own father-in-law, Broderick Chase! And I think we have him on the line now… Mr. Chase? You hear me?”

A split screen comes on where Gavin Taylor’s father-in-law, the incomparable Broderick “The Brod” Chase, professional wrestling manager, promoter, and legacy-builder, sits in his signature suit from the Broderick Chase For Men line, his hair perfectly managed upon his head. The Brod looks like he belongs on large denominations of bills.

Chase: “Yeah, I hear you loud and clear.”

McManus: “First of all, can I say what an honour it is to have you here with us tonight, sir. While many people credit Gavin Taylor for his work in saving wrassin’ in the outback, there are also many who credit you given it was your work as promoter at the time that helped bolster his profile.”

Chase: “All I wanted to do in OWL, Del, was present a product that people wanted to watch. I didn’t do anything for my own glory. I left that to the talent in the ring, and when it came to Gavin, he made that job very easy for me.”

McManus: “Uh huh… and why was that, Mr. Chase?”

Chase: “Well, I don’t think I have to explain to you that Gavin is uniquely talented. Not only does he have an athletic resume that most wrestlers would kill for, but he’s one of the smartest men that I have ever met. And that’s a lot coming from me. Sure, I don’t mean conventional book smarts, but when it comes to the industry, he just gets it.”

McManus: “The one thing we can say about Gavin in Australia is he made a profound connection with the fans. Being the most popular wrestler in the nation was no small feat, and to be that for as long as Gavin was…”

Broderick nods his head, agreeing with the perception.

Chase: “No, I definitely agree. The connection Gavin was able to make with the fans here was something truly special to witness. I don’t know how he did it, or how much of that had to do with his fierce rivalry with Sebastian Blake, but Gavin absolutely was the man in Australian. Without a doubt.”

McManus: “And now he’s your son-in-law… how do you feel about that?”

Chase: “You know, I’ve never been one to let personal feelings intrude on good business decisions, which is why Gavin’s talent makes it so easy. He’s a star through and through. Having him in the family just means that I could pick his brain on things other than the wrestling industry.”

McManus: “Like stocks?”

Chase laughs, tapping his nose.

Chase: “Sure, we’ll go with that.”

McManus: “Anyway, Mr. Chase, it has been an absolute delight to have you on this special. Thank you for your time.”

Chase: “Thank you, Del.”

And the screen cuts, going back to a single shot of the stage.

McManus: “After that, how can we follow-up? Well, later on we will have Gavin’s wife, Madison Chase-Taylor, with us live via satellite from filming the latest Dependables cinematic masterpiece, THEM’s Last Stand. And then, we will speak to the man himself, The All Star, about his upcoming match LIVE in Sydney, as he competes for the Supreme Championship Wrestling Tag Team Championships. But first… this message from Gavin Taylor.”

The scene shifts over to a commercial, where we see a black and white Gavin Taylor competing in the ring.

Gavin: “Hi there… I’m Gavin Taylor. And when I’m not slamming opponents in the ring…”

On the video, Gavin hits a Gavin Taylor Lariat.

Gavin: “No, I said when I’m not SLAMMING opponents in the ring…”

A second shot shows Gavin bodyslamming someone.

Gavin: “Better… when I’m not slamming opponents in the ring, I’m keeping tabs on world affairs. I’m a worldly man, after all. A man of the world. And right now, I am a bit dismayed, but fired up.”

We shift over to an image of koalas in their natural habitat.

Gavin: “Adorable little guys, aren’t they? Did you know that at the current rate of development, there would be no more koalas in New South Wales by 2050? They would be extinct. And that is something that The All-Star just doesn’t accept.”

Gavin walks into the scene, where a wildlife worker from the Australian Koala Corps passes one over to him. Gavin holds the koala in his arms and your heart… just… melts.

Gavin: “Hi there. And what’s your name, little fella?”

AKC Worker: “It’s Gavin.”

Gavin looks over, a smile almost breaking a laugh.

Gavin: “Well you have good taste in names, Gavin.”

Finally, he looks to the camera.

Gavin: “Think of this as one Gavin helping another. I’m pledging to help out with the preservation of natural koala habitats in NSW. That’s why I am donating my entire salary from the Supreme Championship Wrestling Southern Hemisphere tour to saving the koalas habitat. And I don’t only mean the base salary. I mean everything… gate, merch, EV-ER-Y-THING! But wait… there’s more…”

Gavin hands Gavin back to the worker, reaching to his left afterwards and pulling out a t-shirt.

Gavin: “If you call the Australian Koala Corps to pledge a donation to this cause, we will throw in this special, limited edition Gavin Taylor t-shirt. They only made 1000 of these, so you want to jump on it. But please, don’t do it for me…”

He steps back to the right, next to the koala.

Gavin: “Do it for Gavin. Thank you.”

The commercial fades to a phone number before returning to our studio.

McManus: “Amazing. Even when he isn’t living out here, competing here, Gavin Taylor is still giving back to the place that gave him so, so much. Now, we have a special performance coming from recording artist Shonda Von Starland, performing an interpretation of Gavin’s present theme, “Whoa Is Me” by Canadian band Down With Webster…”

This is a thing that happens. It’s not awful, but isn’t about to win any awards.

Then the song ends.

McManus: “Wow. What a performance… something truly worthy of The All-Star.”

Del knows he’s lying, but hell… he has a job to do.

McManus: “But now, we have something unprecedented. A one-on-one conversation with the woman who is perhaps closer to Gavin than any other person on planet Earth. I am, of course, referring to Gavin’s wife, Madison Chase-Taylor. Madison is currently on set with The Dependables, who wanted to send their well-wishes on this occasion. Madison, can you hear me?”

We go back to a split screen, this time with the always-stunning Madison Chase-Taylor on the other side of the screen.

Maddie: “Of course I can hear you. Can you hear me?”

McManus: “Loud and clear. Madison, the first thing I want to know is how’s the movie going?”

Maddie: “Um, amazing AS ALWAYS! Like, duh! I’m in it.”

McManus: “That you are. You seem to have parlayed your wrasslin’ career into a brilliant movie career, something only the most charismatic could do.”

Maddie: “Yeah! But that’s not what you want to talk to me about, is it? You want to talk to me about Gavi!”

Del laughs.

McManus: “Guilty. How is life being married to The All-Star?”

Maddie: “Gavi is like the best person I know. Other than me, of course.”

McManus: “Of course.”

Maddie: “He always stands behind me and my dreams… he’s like the most supportive husband ever. All the other guys I dated before them just wanted to use me for se-…”

McManus: “THIS… this is a family program.”

Maddie: “Um… I know. They wanted to use me for security. There’s a lot of protection to be afforded to the boyfriend of Broderick Chase’s baby girl.”

McManus: “Oh… I get it.”

Maddie: “Also the sex.”

Del was caught unaware, unable to cut Maddie off there.

Maddie: “But with Gavi, he just wanted to be with me and be like a partner, you know?”

McManus: “I’m glad you two seem to have that. But other than that, we understand that you have recently taken up as Gavin’s legal representation.”

Maddie nods.

McManus: “Are there very many legal concerns for The All Star?”

Maddie: “Well, not for legal ramifications. Mostly contract law. Making sure that my Gavi gets the most he can and doesn’t get screwed out of his legal entitlements. It’s very important, you know, to make sure that my man can do what HE does best without having to worry about the legal P’s and Q’s… he trusts me implicitly, and I trust him.”

McManus: “Such a powerful statement for a powerful couple.”

Maddie beams, her head tilting to the side as she smiles.

McManus: “Madison, thank you for this time and something of a small behind the scenes look at life with The All Star.”

Maddie: “Of course. And don’t forget, THEM’s Last Stand comes out in theatres next year! Go see it!”

McManus: “We see all Dependables movies!”

Madison’s window cuts out, leaving Del on screen alone again. He clasps his hands together, smiling ear to ear as he breathes heavily.

McManus: “But right now, we have the reason for this special… the reason why professional wrasslin’ in Australia has remained as viable and successful a venture as it has been. Back in 2008, a contract brought him to Australia. He came in a stranger and left a national icon. Parents took to naming their children after Gavin – don’t look that up. Just trust. Ladies and gentlemen, I give you the most popular wrassler of the 2000’s in Australia… The All-Star Gavin Taylor!”

The canned applause goes over the top. Still, Gavin Taylor steps out onto the stage, a hero returned to his arena. He steps out, shaking the host’s hand as he greets his public. Gavin, for the first time on SCW cameras, appears to be loved by a wider audience.

McManus: “Mr. Taylor, sir, welcome back to the outback!”

Gavin laughs as he looks out over the crowd, clasping his hands together.

Gavin: “You know what? I have been waiting a long time to come back here, to stand in a room like this among my people. And I’m glad to finally have the opportunity to be here!”

McManus: “It’s been about 10 years since you last competed here regularly. You did return briefly to help out the upstart Royal Australian Wrasslin’, becoming their inaugural World Champion…”

Gavin nods.

Gavin: “It was important for me, after the SWA closed down, to help out where I could. You see, that’s something that so many people don’t know about me, or maybe don’t want to acknowledge. A lot of people want to paint me as a villain. They see me acknowledging my talent as a bad thing, but that was never the case here in Australia. I was allowed to be The All-Star without being made to feel ashamed of being The All-Star. Australia was always so freeing for me. You knew me, and you didn’t reject me. Because of that, I will never, ever reject you.”

There is a loud roar of the crowd. Gavin nods his head, pumping his fist as he matches their cheers.

McManus: “And the people’s loyalty toward you never seemed to wane, and now you’re back.”

Gavin: “Yes! Now I am back for this tour and not only that, I’m back for the World Tag League. This is something I know I can sink my teeth into. I know that I am going to take a lot of flack here. I mean heck… you heard Selena Frost talking about how she wants to “use” The All-Star?”

The crowd actually boos the mention of Selena Frost’s name. Gavin waves them off...

Gavin: “No, no… you don’t need to boo Selena on my account. She has built herself up. The “face” of SCW… you know that? She wants to be the Gavin Taylor of SCW. And I can’t begrudge her that. I can’t begrudge anyone that, because I know what it’s like to be the guy on top, carrying a company like SCW, and I know that feeling is second to none. I know that because of Australia. This is my place… and this time, Selena Frost gets to be the one who gets told she’s up her own… you know.”

McManus: “Not only is this a huge return for you to Australia, it’s also a Championship opportunity. That has to feel great for you.”

Gavin: “You know what? It does. It feels tremendous because I know when my music hits, it’s not going to be the typical chorus of boos that rain out. It’s going to be… flipped. I know my people. I know my people won’t be against me. I know I have the support of my people. It’ll be interesting to see, though, what happens. See, I’ve come to a good place in North America. I know I’m not the “good guy” there. I know that people THERE don’t support The All Star and that’s their prerogative. But here? I’m the star. Frozen Hell… Regan Street knows what it’s like, and I’m sure she’ll cope just fine. Selena Frost? She can put on a brave front, but deep down? I don’t think taking the kind of flack that I take on a weekly basis… listening to the jeers… I don’t know if she’s strong enough to cope up here. But she’s going to have to cope because Breakdown in Sydney isn’t going to cater itself to her. Selena doesn’t know what it’s like to be handled with big kid gloves. She’s always been treated gently… like a child who you don’t want to upset. She throws her tantrums, but still gets patted on the head like she does something good. I won’t do that because I have far too much integrity for that.”

There is a cheer from the crowd. Gavin acknowledges this,

Gavin: “These people deserve better. And I’m humbled that, in Sydney, Australia, a place that has given so much to me in my career, I get to give the people better! At least a better World Tag Team Champion.”

Gavin winks, socking Del in the shoulder.

McManus: “This is a huge moment in wrasslin’ here in Australia. And I speak for all of us here when I say Gavin… we hope that you DO become World Tag Team Champion here in Sydney! It would be an absolutely full-circle moment for you, and you deserve a moment like that so much.”

Gavin nods.

Gavin: “That’s another thing I love about you Aussies… you’re always so honest. And I hope that I can give you guys a moment to TRULY remember at Breakdown! Thank you, Australia! It’s great to be home!”

Gavin stands up, beginning to play to his crowd as credits begin to roll. Gavin pitches t-shirts out to the people in the stands as the scene shifts to black.

Leave a comment