A Gavin Taylor Christmas Message

The scene illuminates upon a crackling fireplace inside what can only be assumed is an old timey log cabin. As the camera slowly pans backwards, we see the train of an oversized blanket on sprawled out on the floor. Continuing, it eventually moves up the legs to the Christmas sweater-adorned form of “The All-Star” Gavin Taylor. He has a corn-cob pipe in his mouth, a copy of Charles Dickens’ immortal classic, Scrooge, set upon his lap, and a Santa Claus hat upon his head. Looking to the camera, Gavin smirks, pulling the pipe from his mouth.

“Oh, hello there,” the All-Star begins, his voice smooth as the insides of a Lindor chocolate truffle, a bowl of which are set on the table next to him. “I almost didn’t see you come in there. I was just enjoying time next to the fireplace while indulging in one of the classics.”

Gavin lifts the book up for the camera to see, a smile on his face. A smaller, thinner book attempts to slip out of the bottom, but Gavin’s reflexes are good enough to prevent it from coming into sight, pushing it back into place.

“You know, I love the Christmas season,” he continues as he sets the book down on the table beside him. Reaching into the bowl, he pulls out a chocolate, unwrapping it and setting the wrapper next to the bowl before he bites into the chocolate. “Mmm… delicious. The holidays rank among my favorite times of year. The togetherness, the tastes…”

As Gavin mentions “the tastes”, a stage hand brings him a piping hot mug of cocoa. Gavin takes it with a seasonally-appropriate smile on his face. He takes a sip from it, letting out an audible sigh before he sets it down next to him as well.

“Mmm… my helpers have really outdone themselves this year,” he ruminates. For Gavin, having help to get everything for the season has been an annual occurrence. “Then there is the undeniable feeling of finding the perfect gift… why, sometimes I just know it’s going to be in the Tiffany’s before I even send my reps into the store to look for it. It’s magic. And for a man like me, it’s a perfect time to reflect on the year that has been.”

Now Gavin’s smile gets a tad bitter.

“When I began 2020, I was the Supreme Championship Wrestling Adrenaline Champion,” he begins reminiscing. “And within the month, I lost the Championship, and then faltered in my quest to earn a Trios contract. My early defeat may well have been a precursor to the hellscape that 2020 had become on many fronts. But we persevere. We soldier on. You know, the word “soldier” is very appropriate there, because when it comes to the wrestling industry, I have engaged in my share of battles. In fact, in my last battle, I was burdened with the purpose of defeating my own tag team partner. Near the climax of that match, I was met with another unfortunate moment, when TJ Johnson attempted to cause injury to my All-Star genitals. However, I demonstrated the will of a winner and overcame that obstacle, earning my truly deserved victory.”

After briefly nodding, Gavin turns to a side camera.

“And TJ…” he sternly begins. “Try to strike me again, and you’ll learn the true meaning of the word ‘regret‘. Get it?”

He then turns back to the main camera, a smile back on his face.

“The holiday season is also a chance to engage in other capitalistic ventures, which is why I’m here today,” Gavin sits back. Reaching underneath his Santa hat, he pulls out a compact disc with his holiday visage adorned on it, practically a recreation of the very scene we’re witnessing today. “In addition to being a remarkable professional wrestler, an All-Star caliber athlete, and a charismatic dynamo, I am also an enchanted vocal powerhouse. It’s with that in mind that I had my agent, Ava St. Claire, source out the finest musical minds she could afford and put together this… “An All-Star Christmas”. Ten songs reimagined and recorded with the same type of Gavin Taylor excellence you have come to know and love me for. Featuring such hits as “Gavin Clause is Watching You”, “Gold Christmas”, and my personal favorite, “Christmas Boots”. We’ve stripped away all the God-awful depressing overtones and undertones and made it something fun and uplifting, like the season is supposed to be.”

Gavin smiles, opening the CD and setting it propped up in front of his mug of cocoa, beside the bitten Lindor ball.

“But of course, we can’t close out 2020 without one more Gavin Taylor match,” Gavin correctly notes, possibly alluding to his upcoming Tag League match against Cookie Dreams and Jordan Majors. “On one hand, it’s an opportunity to make a statement going into 2021 that it is going to be MY year… that the All-Star is poised to take the next step towards the vaunted Greatness that we rise to every July. On the other hand, if you don’t already know of Gavin Taylor’s greatness, perhaps the efforts will be wasted trying to convert one who doesn’t want to convert. You know what? I’m just going to go out there and do what Gavin Taylor does: Put on a WORLD-CLASS wrestling match. An invertible CLINIC! And if my partner wishes to show up, great. If not… then the world is AGAIN going to get to see the All-Star front and center… where I belong.”

He smirks, reaching back for his mug, which he lifts to the camera.

“So Merry Christmas,” he begins. “Happy New Year… and remember: 2021 will be the Rise of the All-Star! See you at Breakdown, Hamilton.”

Gavin takes another drink from his mug, marveling at the cocoa within as the scene fades with some festive music.

Leave a comment