Gavin Taylor: Declared Intent

“I don’t need any introduction… everyone knows who I am. So let’s talk about what we last saw…

 

It was the season finale of EMERGE… Invasion: Washington DC. And there I was, defending the Championship that I defined in 2018, the EMERGE RUSH Championship, against the last person to defeat me in the ring, Kandis. Anyone would be a fool to take Kandis for granted because of her more marketable assets, but Gavin Taylor is no fool! Oh no. I fought like the REAL ATHLETE that I am through that match. I gave Kandis every bit of my athletic skill… my natural, God-given talent… over the course of our falls count anywhere match. And she gave me the same. I know she has been all over social media and, in between her “thirsty Thursdays”, has been giving me flack for “attempting” to “blind her” by throwing hot water in her face. But if our roles were reversed, she would have been patting herself on the back talking about how crafty she was, and how she did whatever she needed to do in order to take the Championship from me.

 

That’s the God’s honest truth, and I’m okay with that. I don’t begrudge Kandis that. In fact, I’m sure that in the future, she’ll be a great RUSH Champion herself, and if Dexter Schmidt wants to hand her the Championship after I become EMERGE Champion, more power to him. It would show good business sense. But until I become EMERGE Champion, I’m going to continue to reign as RUSH Champion. Because, when you look at EMERGE… you have to have that stabilizing force. Peyton Rice is moving on up to the East Side known as SCW. Drake Hemingway, my old rival, is gone. Others have also left. Dexter Schmidt is taking over from Vanilla Skyy as General Manager. We’re entering into a new era of EMERGE, so the stability that I bring to the RUSH Championship should be a welcome thing.

 

It’s not like I’m a slouch, either. I legitimately saved the RUSH Championship from becoming just another piece of tin. The first dude to carry the title? Abattage? Puh-LEASE! It would have been like having Bulk as the star of Power Rangers rather than the fucking robots! I personally breathed LIFE into this Championship! I’m the one who made people sit up… who made people take notice! My feud with Drake Hemingway? It established the Championship as one of the most sought-after prizes in wrestling! That wouldn’t have been possible with any old run-of-the-mill “guy”… I use air-quotes there because of the way men and women compete against one another. But yeah… I guess if you really want to talk about it… I’m a standard-bearer. I’m the type a company can build itself on. I’m a true franchise player, and…”

 

Voice: “Excuse me, sir?”

 

The scene opens up inside of a Starbucks. An annoyed cashier stands behind, staring daggers at our subject, the EMERGE RUSH Champion and “All Star”, Gavin Taylor. But sure as Gavin remains standing in place, he had gotten onto a good roll, airing some opinions about his current employer. Behind Gavin are a few more people, also annoyed at having to wait for their Caramel Macchiatos while Gavin waxes poetic. Still, as Gavin stands looking at the annoyed barista, he doesn’t understand the interruption.

 

Gavin: “What?”

 

Cashier: “I just needed your name to put on the cup.”

 

Gavin rolls his eyes exaggeratedly.

 

Gavin: “You want to know what to put on my cup?”

 

Cashier: “Yes, please.”

 

Gavin: “You can write on it… “Gavin Taylor, the EMERGE RUSH Champion, The Franchise Player, The Man Who Would Be King, the Best Wrestler in the Universe, the Real-World Jedi, Wrestling’s Kwisatz Haderach, the MVP of Life, the Obscenely Naturally Talented, the History-Maker, The ALL-ST-“…”

 

Cashier: “I’LL…”

 

He speaks up, cutting Gavin off right before the big payoff…

 

Cashier: “I’ll just put “Gavin” on it…”

 

Gavin: “You disrespect me.”

 

Without any more words in this scene, we fade away, sure to miss another prolonged Gavin Taylor monologue about his favourite topic: himself. The scene cuts.

– – – – – – – – – –

“Do you know why Gavin Taylor is called “The All-Star”? In every athletic company, from the NFL to the NHL, from the NBA to Major League Baseball, there are cogs in the machine. They were good enough to make it to the number one company in their field, and may have standout seasons where they make an All-Star team, but they are not “All-Stars” in the same manner that Gavin Taylor is. Gavin Taylor is “The All-Star” because he doesn’t just have standout moments or standout months. He is “The All-Star” because being a standout just comes naturally to him. He is as exceptional an athlete as they come. And he’s not one who just wanted to become a professional wrestler. Gavin Taylor could be competing today as an All-Star athlete in any sport around the world. Golf. Swimming. Fucking water polo. He could do any of it. He chose professional wrestling. And because of that, because of his natural athleticism, he stands on a level that exclusive “professional wrestlers” don’t realize exists. It’s like trying to perceive the fourth dimension when you exist on the third. Gavin is just that good.”

– Ceri Belle, Assistant to Ava St. Claire of St. Claire Management

– – – – – – – – – –

September Mills walks through the doors at St. Claire Management on Yonge Street in Toronto, Ontario. Dressed as one might expect any businesswoman to be dressed, she approaches the front desk where the recently-named Ceri Belle sits behind the desk on the phone.

 

“Excuse me,” September asks, before being greeted by one finger raised from the young woman. September, however, was undeterred by this. In her recent work with Laura Steinbeck, September had become accustomed to dealing with interruptions at the whims of clients and managers, but she would never let on. She steps back, pulling a file folder from her bag, reviewing some of the contents whilst the young Miss Belle finishes up her phone call. Upon hearing the receiver click back down on the phone set, she turns back to the desk.

 

“How can I help you?” Ceri asks, tilting her head to the side and pushing some of her blonde hair back behind her shoulder. September looks to the young woman, almost surveying her for a moment before being “ahemmed” back to reality.

 

“Oh, sorry,” she says. “I have a 2 o’clock appointment with Ms. St. Claire.”

 

“Ms. St. Claire is currently with a client,” Ceri says in a matter-of-fact way. “Can we reschedule?”

 

“She’s in there with Gavin Taylor,” September responds, knowingly. The history shared between Gavin and September definitely exists. It was September who, in 2013, convinced her employers at The Network… not the SCW stable… that chipping money in to bring Gavin Taylor to Dominion of Canada Wrestling would be a sound investment that would pay off. And while the ratings were strong, the management structure at the Next Evolution Wrestling Alliance, the parent organization of DCW, was unsustainable, resulting in a premature death for the Alliance, and leaving the Network on the hook for their contractual obligations to the All-Star. “I’m supposed to be a part of that meeting.”

 

Ceri raises an eyebrow at September’s sharp tone. She had heard there was some bitterness as the Network held her responsible for their continued payouts to Gavin, keeping him in sound financial position – as if he needed it on his own, having been married to Madison Chase of the illustrious and renowned Chase family for eight years now – while costing the Network for no return on investment, but didn’t know how deeply the resentment ran. Ceri slides a clipboard from in front of her, pushing it towards Mills.

 

“Sign in here,” she instructs. “I’ll call you in.”

 

Ceri stands up from her chair and walks back down the hallway. September watches her walk and pulls out a business card, scribbling a few things on the back and sliding it around the desk under the woman’s keyboard before signing the sheet at the front desk. She looks down the hallway, seeing Ceri pop her head out of the door, beckoning her to come. September walks down the hallway, taking a look at the walls as she does, seeing pictures of past and present clients of St. Claire Management. She approaches the frosted-glass doors to Ava St. Claire’s office and passes through. She spots St. Claire, the buxom redhead, behind her desk. Looking to the front side, she can see Gavin Taylor. Jack and Karl Barker, Gavin’s personal All-Star Security (ASS), flank either side of the door. September looks around. “Is this a shakedown?” she asks.

 

“No, of course not,” Ava says as she rises from her desk, moving around to the front of it to greet September. She walks over to her, stretching out her hand. “I’m Ava St. Claire…”

 

“Yeah, I’m aware of your work, Ms. St. Claire,” September responds, reaching her hand out to shake the agent’s. “Your reputation precedes you.”

 

“Well,” Ava responds, trying to shake off the compliment as subtly as possible. “Why don’t you take a seat and we can discuss things. Thank you, Ceri.”

 

Ceri “salutes” and takes her leave, exiting. September looks over to Gavin, who looks back at her.

 

“Hey, Sept. How’re you doing?” he asks as casually as he could possibly be. September swallows some bitterness at this fact. He was the only person to call her “Sept” and it felt like an unnecessary abbreviation.

 

“I’m well, thank you,” she responds shortly but honestly. Ava strides back around the desk, taking her seat in what appeared to be a ludicrously expensive chair. “So what would you like to discuss?”

 

“So formal,” Ava notes. “I like that. We have a business proposition that we believe you would find very attractive.”

 

“I’m never one to reject a business proposition without first hearing it,” September says, much to her own chagrin. It was that cavalier attitude that tied her to Gavin’s Network contract all those years ago. “What did you have in mind?”

 

“I’m not sure if you’ve noticed, but Gavin Taylor has become wildly successful in EMERGE,” Ava points out. Gavin smirks while September nods.

 

“I’ve seen,” she says. “I’ve been in contact with the company in regards to Jennifer Helms. I believe she is set to become a breakout superstar there.”

 

Ava smiles. “Yes, we have been quite impressed with the young Helms’ progress under the Beauty Factory.”

 

“That’s Beauty Network,” September corrects Ava, who smiles in return, acknowledging the correction.

 

“Of course, how silly of me,” she says, almost as though she was attempting to dismiss the correction. “We believe that Jenni will become even more integral to EMERGE’s success the next 12 months than Gavin here.”

 

“It’s true,” Gavin nods, confirming this odd fact for him to confirm. Gavin was never one to sell himself short, and this is something that September picks up on.

 

“What do you mean?” She asks, cocking an eyebrow.

 

“Well, Jenni is definitely a strong option to carry EMERGE this year,” Ava steps in. “She’s talented, she’s charismatic, her trainers are world-class. The Helms name is a license to print money.”

 

“Again, you have Gavin Taylor there,” September says, still confused about what she’s hearing. “Why are you talking to me about Jenni Helms?”

 

“Okay, we’re going to level with you,” Ava rises out of her chair, leaning forward on her desk. “We know that Gavin is not going to be with EMERGE for the entire calendar year. He’s there right now to fulfill his obligations as RUSH Champion and potentially become EMERGE Champion, but Gavin is too lucrative a talent to be stuffed in the toybox only to be brought out every three weeks. He should be making the big money in SCW.”

 

“So why am I here?” September asks, feeling like she’s banging her head up against a wall.

 

“Because you can help make that happen,” Gavin says, a Cheshire grin on his face. September immediately begins to shake her head.

 

“No,” she responds. “Uh-uh.  No way.”

 

“Miss Mills,” Ava tries to interject.

 

“Do you know the shit that I had to deal with after the last time I did business with you, Gavin?” September rises out of her seat, her agitation coming to a head. “After that Network contract, my colleagues didn’t respect me anymore! I became the woman who sold out her profession for an attempt at a quick lay.”

 

“That was never on the table,” Gavin says flatly.

 

“Of course, it wasn’t!” September responds in kind. “But try and tell that to a fucking patriarchal system when the ONE WOMAN they let in gave a lucrative contract to a God-damn beefcake to tie him to a company that died six months into the deal! Optics, Gavin! Shit!”

 

“Miss Mills,” Ava again tries to interject. “We’re not looking for money.”

 

September lets out an exasperated scream, calming down. “Then why am I here?”

 

“You’re here because you and I can help each other out,” Ava responds. “I know the Beauty Fac-… Network wants to position Jenni Helms as the next big star there. We can help you there. Have Gavin give a public endorsement of her. That kind of thing.”

 

“And what’s my end of the “bargain”?” September asks, still extremely skeptical of the whole thing. “What can I offer you that you don’t already have?”

 

“Access,” Ava responds simply. “We know you’re connected to Laura Steinbeck. We know that Laura Steinbeck is the manager of Sienna Swann, the SCW World Champion. That’s access. That’s power.”

 

But September shakes her head. “But why?” she asks. “Like you said, Gavin is talented enough to get by on his own.”

 

“I didn’t say that,” Ava reminds her. “And he is, but who wouldn’t want to take advantage of every opening one can possibly go? With access to the World Champion and to SCW in general, we know Gavin’s stock would skyrocket.”

 

“September…” Gavin leans forward in his seat, having never stood up. “I know you. You know me. And I know that deep down, you know it wasn’t my fault that NEWA closed down. But for what it’s worth, I am truly sorry about what you had to deal with in the fallout of NEWA’s closure. I know that your Network was stuck having to commission second-rate reality shows out of the loss of funds they had paying me.”

 

September looks at Gavin, skepticism not fleeing her.

 

“I want a chance to make it right for you, to give you your reputation back,” he says with sincerity. If that sincerity is false, Gavin certainly isn’t letting on. “I owe you that much.”

 

September thinks about everything. She looks to Gavin, then to Ava. Would an agent of St. Claire’s calibre involve herself in a plot against her? September sighs… “Let me talk to Ms. Steinbeck about it.”

 

Gavin smiles, looking to Ava who nods. “That’s all we ask,” he says. September looks nervous about what’s going on, but those nerves are overtaken by her own inner dialogue, asking herself if she is truly thinking of going into business with Gavin again, bewildered that the answer to that question is “Yes”. The scene fades

– – – – – – – – – –

“Gavin Taylor is the best athlete I have ever represented, and losing his representation might just be enough to doom my company. But it’s not just his athletic prowess that makes him such a valuable client. Athletes are a dime a dozen these days. Everyone seems to want to get in and get their piece of the pie. What makes Gavin such a valuable commodity is his presence, his charisma, and his marketability. He is a bona fide, certified money-maker. Where Gavin goes, profits follow. I have binders o evidence available for any skeptics to review. Any company that he was a part of that closed down did so at their own peril and managerial issues. Gavin Taylor is a star. I would bank my reputation and my company on him.”

– Ava St. Claire, Owner and President of St. Claire Management

– – – – – – – – – –

“Ladies and gentlemen, I want you to understand and appreciate just how significant this moment truly is. Take a moment to settle yourself. Grab yourself a beverage. Shut out the rest of the world and focus on this moment right now. Are you settled? Take another moment to breathe deeply… inhale… exhale… If you have to pause this for another moment to properly settle in, do that.

 

Are you ready? Good… because this is too big to be lost among the white noise. This is a moment that will endure in time forever and ever, amen.

 

Gavin… Taylor… is entering… the Year-End Battle Royal!

 

I know… I know. I can feel the excitement that is now coursing through your veins. Yes, the rumours are true. Gavin Taylor, Canada’s Greatest Export… I gotta add that one to my nickname list… is coming back to the global wrestling scene for at least one night. Yes, the promise of a cool quarter-million and a new car to the winner didn’t hurt in making this decision. In fact, it goes a great deal of the way in helping me make this decision. But no… my decision wasn’t made because of the dangling of a lucrative, golden carrot in front of my face. Gavin Taylor doesn’t need a carrot dangling to show the world just how great he is! But now, with my declared intention to compete in that match, you have a carrot dangling in front of you to watch: Me.

 

I know you’ve seen me before. You saw me back at Taking Hold of the Flame, my first time in an SCW ring. That night didn’t go the way I had hoped, but I can’t blame those in the ring for taking me out the way they did. Sienna Swann… Regan Helms… Andrew Raynes… they’re smart people. They knew that if Gavin Taylor had an opportunity to flourish in that environment, that I may well have been the one headlining Rise to Greatness instead of Giovanni Aries. If I were in their shoes and saw an opening to toss someone of my talent out of the ring, I would have taken it. I don’t begrudge them for taking the opportunity to do that. I applaud them for their intelligence. I knew that when I stood in that ring, I was standing with World Championship calibre talent, and since that night, Sienna definitely went out to prove me right, so thank you for that, Sienna.

 

You then saw me a month later at the Rise to Greatness pre-show defending my RUSH Championship against Drake Hemingway. And things on that night didn’t go my way. I was prepared to make like Elsa and let it go, but Vanilla Skyy wasn’t, booked the rematch, and I reclaimed that title two short months later… a title I still hold today.

 

And you may have to go back, but I know you’ve seen me taking on a Supreme Champion by the name of Christian Savior while in another company. I know you know the name… well he and I had a storied rivalry that culminated inside a Hell in the Cell match. Sure… he may have gone on the record after that match saying our issues weren’t over, but that was a desperate attempt to control a narrative that he couldn’t keep a handle of, because in that match… he did a lot of things to me. He battered me. He bloodied me. He powerslammed me off the top of the cell through an announce table. But none of it was good enough because a little-known secret about Gavin Taylor: I’m as tough as an overcooked Trump steak! So for all of the things he did to me to try and keep me down, absolutely nothing worked, and I came back from that devastating moment that is still replayed on YouTube today to DEFEAT Christian Savior!

 

That’s just a glimpse… a glimmer… of how good Gavin Taylor is, and SCW… you’re going to get a whole lot closer of a look at your End of Year show.

 

Let’s face it… having a world-class real athlete like me in the fold is something that SCW is sorely lacking. You have great wrestlers. You have fitness gurus. You have people who have devoted their lives to getting to this point. But when I look at SCW, I don’t see anyone like me. And that’s because there isn’t anyone like me. I am a one-of-a-kind… an exclusive model… they don’t make ‘em like this anymore. No, you see today’s wrestlers are groomed for professional wrestling. They all say they loved it growing up. I didn’t love it growing up. I didn’t have time to love things that I didn’t excel in, and I was excelling in so much that slowing down to watch some guys “rassle” in their underpants wasn’t on the docket. It wasn’t until I discovered I have a knack for it – like I do for every other athletic endeavor that I participated in at the time – that I started to take an interest. See, I’m a prodigious talent. I do get my gifts straight from the big man upstairs.

 

You are all going to be in for something truly special in 2019, and you’re going to get a small preview of that in the Battle Royal on New Year’s Eve where “The All-Star” makes bank… deposits a huge paycheque and drives away in a brand-new car. How can I be so confident? Because I am The Franchise Player, The Man Who Would Be King, the Best Wrestler in the Universe, the Real-World Jedi, Wrestling’s Kwisatz Haderach, the MVP of Life, the Obscenely Naturally Talented, the History-Maker, The ALL-ST-“…”

 

Gavin gets interrupted by an older woman.

 

Woman: “Shhhhhhh!!”

 

Gavin looks over to the woman, who interrupted his self-taping promo. She points over to the “No Talking” sign on the wall of the library. Gavin sneers and shakes his head, before looking back into the camera.

 

“You’ll see.”

 

Woman: “Shhhhhhh!!”

 

Gavin: “You “shhhhhhh!!”.”

 

The scene fades to black.

Leave a comment